Nine civil servants atop Everest

Nine members of Nepal Civil Servant Everest Expedition 2011 reached the summit of Mt Everest in the morning of 18 May.

Laxman Prasad Bhattarai, spokesperson of the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation who is at the Everest Base Camp, said five members reached the summit at 5:45 am and remaining four at 7: 45 am.

Khimlal Gautam, Santa Kumar Maharjan, Subir Shrestha, Tulsiram Bhandari, Surath Pokhrel, Hari Guragain, Hari Dhakal, Padam Bhandari and Gyanendra Shrestha reached the summit this morning, according to Bhattarai.

Though there were a total of 15 civil servants in the team, nine had withdrawn due to poor health conditions. Fifteen Sherpas of the expedition also reached the summit.